Inspiring the next generation of explorers!
Housings one of Tasmania’s most varied collections of maritime artifacts, the museum showcases the replica Sloop Norfolk, James Kelly's whaleboat the Elizabeth, and the Admiral, the Kenneth Dickenson, the Tamar Class Melanie, the sabot Zephyr 2, rowing fours, canoes, and a tribute to solo round the would quest by Ken Gourley.
The Bass and museum also feature an extensive collection of maps and charts, photographs, paintings, logbooks, movies, diaries, and journals.
In 1798, explorers Bass and Flinders were dispatched to Van Diemens Land to ascertain if it was an island or not. Sailing with a crew of eight aboard His Majesty's Colonial Sloop Norfolk, they took shelter in the Tamar River, anchoring off what is now George Town. Explore the tale of Bass and Flinders and Tasmania’s rich Maritime History at the Bass and Flinders Maritime Museum.
The modern-day Norfolk is a close replica of the original vessel which was built on Norfolk Island. Work on the construction of the replica began in 1994 and was carried out by a group of volunteers assisting the builder.
The replica Sloop Norfolk on display here at the Bass and Flinders Museum is built from three endemic Tasmanian timbers; Huon pine (planking), Celery Top pine (keel, frames, mast, and spars), and decorated with Blackwood.
To find out more come and visit us.