Escape and relax at the historical precinct of Low Head Pilot Station. Situated at the entry of the Tamar River in Northern Tasmania near Launceston, the Low Head Conservation Area dates back to 1805 and is the oldest Pilot and Signal Station in Australia. This charming and unique precinct overlooking Bass Strait, is a haven of tranquility and serenity surrounded by pristine beaches and magnificent views. Stay in one of nine self-contained cottages on the village green whether it be the whole family, a romantic retreat or a group getaway. Choose from one, three and four bedroom cottages each with kitchens, private bathrooms, living areas and views across Bass Strait. The Light Keepers Cottage and The Queenslander offers a spectacular outlook to the Tamar River and ocean. The most popular beachside rental is the four bedroom Pilot's Cottage. Visit the precinct's charming heritage museum, lighthouse, operational Fog Horn and Low Head Penguin Colony or venture further a field an enjoy the Tamar Valley wine and gourmet food route. The Pilot Station's cafe is a delightful setting for delicious homemade goodies or a glass of wine overlooking the beach, Tamar River and Low Head Precinct.
Low Head Pilot Station is a unique and historical precinct situated at the entry of the Tamar River just 40 minutes drive from Launceston. Dating back to 1805, the Low Head Conservation Area is the oldest Pilot and Signal Station in Australia and has run continuously since 1833. Offering a diverse range of 19th century buildings overlooking Bass Strait, this charming precinct is a haven of tranquility and serenity surrounded by pristine beaches and magnificent views. The oldest building on the site is Pilot's Row dating back to 1835. Previously used to house up to four pilots and their families, the building has subsequently been converted to a museum where the rich history of Low Head is celebrated. Museum entry by donation. As the station flourished additional buildings were added which are now available as self-contained cottage style accommodation. The Coxswain's cottage was built in 1847 and is now a delightful cafe overlooking the beach. The Pilot Station features the third oldest Lighthouse in the Commonwealth and a restored fog horn which is one of two operating fog horns remaining in Australia and the only full operational Type 'G' system in the world. It sounds at noon every Sunday. Opening Times: Museum: 1000-1600 daily except Christmas day. Cafe: 1 June to 30 November: 1000-1700, seven days a week. 1 December to 31 May: 0900-1700.